Event ID 108 : Source – MR_Monitor in Windows

It was a fine morning, we noticed this strange issue within our Windows machine. Before proceeding into the issue, let me make you clear about our scenario. We have a total of 5 drives in our windows machine (C,D,E,F,G) and the major data resides in the drive E. We do access a share in this drive everyday to copy some contents. But while trying to copy the contents on this day, we were getting an error as shown below:

Error_copy

We were pretty sure that the location we try to copy does exist since this is a usual process. Checked on this windows machine, confirmed that the drive and path exist. Since I was not sure of why this unusual error, I started investigating the issue by checking the event logs. And there does exist the error (shown below).

Event_log_108

Though Googling doesn’t gave me an idea on this event id, it was pretty clear that something is wrong with the disks from the event viewer logs. Next thing I considered was to check the “Disk Management” tab in Computer management (Right click on computer -> Manage) and there I could find that the three disks in uninitialized state, with no options to bring it online or initialize.

That was a bad thing which I could find. Out of my curiosity, I did looked in “Device Manager”, just to know whether this issue is an outcome of some disk driver problem. Under “Disk drives” when I clicked “Scan for hardware changes”, I could see that all the 3 affected disks were removed from the disk management tab, which confirmed that it is not a driver issue.

The probable causes of this issue will be either storage array or a controller issue. But the issue resolved with a simple trial, trust me, I just rebooted my windows machine and all those 3 disks were online again. And yet again Windows proved that almost all unknown errors will be resolved by a simple reboot 🙂 .

LET US KNOW YOUR RATINGS ON THIS BLOG HERE. ALSO FEEL FREE TO CONTACT ME.

Leave a Reply

